For more than 60 years,
a publication centered on life in Mississippi.
Today is January 24, 2020

2019 Youth Tour

By Elissa Fulton

2019 Youth Tour

Mississippi’s participants in the 33rd annual Electric Cooperative Youth Tour met with Rep. Michael Guest on the steps of the U.S. Capitol building. 

Eighty-one of Mississippi’s finest high school juniors spent a week in June exploring the nation’s capital and making new friends, courtesy of their local electric cooperative.

The students that participated in the 33rd annual Mississippi Electric Cooperative Youth Tour were able to visit many of the capital’s most significant historical and cultural sites­­­­­­­­­­­­ during the tour. They also joined more than 1,800 participants from 43 other states as a part of the national electric cooperative program for the annual Youth Day. The day was filled with motivational speakers and information about unique cooperative opportunities available to students. 2019 Youth Leadership Council Member and National Spokesperson Wallace Bass was invited back to speak to the students during Youth Day. Wallace was sponsored by Central Electric Power Association in Carthage.

A highlight was a visit to the U.S. Capitol, where Rep. Michael Guest carried on the tradition of escorting Mississippi students to the floor of the U.S. House of Representatives. Rep. Guest told the students about the historical artifacts significant to the Capitol Building. After the Capitol tour, each student had the opportunity to visit the office of his or her congressman.

The workshop in Jackson, held in February, and Youth Tour are components of the Electric Cooperatives of Mississippi (ECM) Youth Leadership Program. Participants are chosen through a competitive process sponsored by their electric cooperative.

“We are strong advocates of providing resources to educate and encourage our young people,” said Ron Stewart, ECM senior vice president. “Our investment in this program has produced outstanding dividends as we see many of our past participants serving in leadership roles in our communities, schools and government. They have accepted our challenge and are using their skills to make a difference. Their involvement is a true example of the success this program has experienced in the past 33 years.”

2019 Mississippi Youth Tour delegates and their sponsoring electric cooperatives are Alcorn County EPA: Alana Hillard, Payne Sleeper; Central EPA: James Carpenter, John Carpenter, Savanna Greer, Callum Mann, Brooks McDill, Kathryn Moss, Brack Rudolph; Coast Electric: Caleb Bergmann, Jordan Calomese, Alaina Olsen, Mary Thames; Dixie Electric: Lorin Brown, Courtney Lee; East Mississippi EPA: Khadijah Bell, Daneel Konnar, Judson Moore, Maggie Phillips, Shelbie Dean Reid; 4-County EPA: Ben Brown, Carrington Davis, Ethan Sevier, Zachary Wilson; Magnolia Electric Power: Baleigh Brumfield, Abby Burris, Carley Craig, Amia Miller; Natchez Trace EPA: Seth Burks, Chris Mathieu; North East Mississippi EPA: Johnathyn Assad, Mason Bay, Jed Fitts, Murphy Grace Smith, Tamyia Spencer; Northcentral EPA: Grady Brooks, Bobby Current, Anna Ruth Doddridge, Kennedi Evans, Xavier Harrell, Avery Hughes, Madi Jones, Dreanna Leake, Morgan Lee, Sammy Lee, Caroline McIntosh, Katie Payne, Kevin Rico, Alex Sanderlin, Danielle Smith, Morgan Vanderburg; Pearl River Valley EPA: Eli Johnson, Hannah Phipps; Singing River Electric: Sarah Hults, Carly Jones, Jeb Wells, Madisyn Peterson; Southern Pine Electric: Hunter Lee, Ethan McNair; Southwest Electric: John Michael Chance III, Graci Malone, Layna Myers, Carleigh Sproulls; Tallahatchie Valley EPA: Grant Burress, Claye Childers, Taylor Dean, Mary Grace Dickerson, J’Kayla Pomerlee, Abbi Roark, Ben Rowsey; Tombigbee EPA: Sara Taylor Baker, Alisha Boren, Tara Beth Buse, Haley Dean, Chloe Evans, Lakin Hamm, Cameron Mayes; Twin County EPA: Ethan Blasingame, Williette Kingdom; and Yazoo Valley EPA: Hunter Barron, Peyton Jones. Cooperative Energy sponsored a student representing Singing River Electric. 

Site designed by Marketing Alliance, Inc.